The Maidstone and the Weald boundaries include much of the centre of Maidstone, before heading south to Benenden, and East until it hits the borders of Paddock Wood in the neighbouring constituency of Tunbridge Wells. The settlements of East Farleigh, Coxheath, Yalding, Marden, Sissinghurst and Cranbrook all sit within the constituency.

The constituency elects a Member of Parliament in the General Election, which is held at least once every five years.

At the local level, the constituency sits across the borough councils of Maidstone and Tunbridge Wells. These councils are split into areas called ‘wards’, within which residents select councillors to represent their views.

The Ordinance Survey provide a useful tool for finding out which council and constituency your home sits within here. You can find out who your councillor is by looking on the Maidstone Borough Council or Tunbridge Wells Borough Council websites.

Labour in the constituency

Labour are active across the constituency. Much of the local work takes place within the ‘branch’ teams, as we respond to issues raised by residents. Branches bring together Labour activists in small local areas.

We often find that the issues which affect people most, like traffic calming, street lamps, housing development and environmental protection are felt at this most local level. A list of your local Labour representatives and contact details can be found on this website under Councillors. You can also contact the Allen Simpson on

We have two councillors on the Maidstone Borough Council. Paul Harper represents the Fant Ward in the heart of Maidstone, and Malcolm McKay represents Shepway South Ward, which is across the constituency boundary within Faversham and Mid Kent.

If you would like to join our growing team please get in touch.